Tuesday, January 14, 2014

A Kiss of Lies by Bronwen Evans

A Kiss of Lies by Bronwen Evans.

This is book one in the Disgraced Lords series. You can find a short prequel to this story, HERE, on the author's website.

Christian Trent, the Earl of Markham, has been run out of England after being wrongly accused of a rape. In Canada, he suddenly finds himself the guardian of a young girl.  Hoping to go back to England to clear his name, he need a governess for his young charge.

Sarah Cooper, running from an abusive marriage, disguises herself as a governess in hopes of finding a way out of the country and away from the men that are hunting her.  When she sees the notice that the Earl has placed, she felt that someone was finally on her side. She has had a crush of the Earl of Markham since before she had her coming out and hopes that he is still the kind man she remembers.
Disfigured from his time in the army, Christian is surprised when Sarah shows no disgust when seeing the damage to his face. For this reason, he agrees to hire her if his ward also like her.

The attraction between Christian and Sarah is almost instantaneous. He can't stop thinking about her, but he doesn't know that she has come from a bad marriage and doesn't want to push too hard. He puts his renown seducing skills to work and Sarah quickly succumbs. 

Finally making it back to England, Christian and Sarah work hard to solve both of their problems.

I don't want to give away too many more details of the plot and ruin the story so I'm stopping here with my summary.  

I LOVED this story!! 

Christian and Sarah are so broken from what they have been through that it took someone that was equally broken to get them to see their worth.  It really showed what type of man Christian was when he allowed Sarah to come to him and set the pace of their relationship. Not that he didn't try his hardest to seduce her into it, but it was ultimately Sarah's decision.

This is the first book that I have read from this author and I know it will not be my last.  I love series books and this one does not disappoint. We were able to meet most of the members of the Libertine Scholars and they have already intrigued me! An added bonus is the mystery that appears to connect to the whole group. The author is genius to include this. How can you not finish the series to find out the how the mystery is solved?? I know I will be coming back for each installment!

You can find this book at Amazon and Barnes & Noble.

Thanks go out to NetGalley and Random House Publishing for a copy of the book in exchange of an honest review.

post signature