Tuesday, February 25, 2014

The Raider by Monica McCarty

The Raider by Monica McCarty.

This is book 8 in the Highland Guard series.

Six years ago, Lady Rosalin Clifford saved Robert "Raider" Boyd from being executed by her brother. So when he kidnaps her and her nephew during a raid, she tells him he must re-pay the debt by releasing them.

Robert didn't know that it was his enemy's sister that saved him all those years ago, but he can't let her go. He needs her to get a peace treaty signed by the English and stop the bloodshed that is tearing apart his country.

Robert (Robbie) has had a place in Roselin's heart since she saw him acting the gallant warrior while imprisoned. She can't believe that this is the same man that she thought deserved to be free. Six years of war have hardened Robbie and he is no longer the man that he use to be.

Roselin and her nephew try to escape at every opportunity, but as Roselin spends more time with Robert she sees the man under the warrior.  She must decide if what she really wants is to go back to the English or fight for the love of a Scottish warrior.

This is the first book that I have read by Monica McCarty and it definitely won't be the last. I usually read series books in order, but didn't have time to read the other 8 before reading this one. I will definitely be going back and reading them now.  Even though there were 8 books before this one that I hadn't read, I didn't feel like it took away from the story at all.  Several characters and story lines were mentioned, but nothing that had me wishing that I had read the others first.

I loved the faith that Roselin had in her brother even in the face of all the bad things that Robbie had to say about him.  Her brother was all that she had left and even if it meant losing Robbie, she did not lose her faith in him. Robbie was the same with his convictions, he would do anything for his country even if it meant losing Roselin. 

I don't want to give away too many things, but it was a really great book. I hope to find the time to read the rest of the series very soon!

You can get this book at Amazon, Barnes and Noble, and iBooks.

Thanks go to NetGalley and Ballentine Books for a copy of the book in exchange of an honest review.

post signature

No comments:

Post a Comment