Wednesday, October 2, 2013

Never Desire a Duke by Lily Dalton

Never Desire a Duke by Lily Dalton.

This is book 1 of her One Scandalous Season series.

Vane, Lord Claxton, returns home to find his wife unconsolable after losing their child and learns that he is at fault.

Lady Sophia is miserable after losing her child and having her husband abandon her. After many months, she has come to the conclusion that she must get a separation from Claxton but she wants a child. Can she convince her husband to give her the child she desperately wants and then grant her a separation?

What Sophia doesn't know is that Claxton has never stopped loving her. He will do anything to get her back.

Sophia has traveled to Claxton's childhood home to be alone and have time to think. Claxton finds out where she is going and quickly follows. Unfortunately, the place already has some uninvited guests and a misunderstanding ensues.

Lucky for Claxton, the weather has gotten worse and Sophia can not leave as she wishes. He uses that time to try and convince her to change her mind about the separation. Will Sophia get her wish for a child and a separation or will Claxton prevail and get his wife back?

This is Lily Dalton's debut novel and it is wonderfully written. There were times in the book where I was laughing out loud and times my heart just broke for the characters. The secondary characters were very well written and I can't wait to read more about them.  Next up in the series is Never Entice an Earl about one of Sophia's sisters, Daphne. I can't wait to read it when it comes out on April 29, 2014.

You can find this book at Amazon and Barnes & Noble.

Thanks go to Netgalley and Grand Central Publishing/Forever for a free copy of the book in exchange of an honest review.

No comments:

Post a Comment