Sunday, September 29, 2013

Season for Scandal by Theresa Romain

Season for Scandal by Theresa Romain.

It is the third book in the Holiday Pleasures Series.

Jane Tindall is about to win enough money to give her some independence before a card cheat takes the winning hand. Now Jane must pay up. Unfortunately, Jane has been playing a part of wealthy Lady Xavier (Jane's cousin's wife) and doesn't have the money to make good on the bet.

Fortunately (or unfortunately), Edmund Ware the Baron Kirkpatrick steps in to help. He claims that Jane is his betrothed and that he will pay her gambling debt.

If Jane denies this, she will be ruined. She has no option but to allow the lie to stand.  Jane and Edmund realize that they must actually go through with the wedding so that Jane's reputation is not in ruins.

Edmund knows he needs to get married for an heir and Jane has been in love with Edmund for years. They both see it as something that must be done.  Unfortunately, they view their marriage in completely different ways.

Edmund has always thought of Jane as a friend and continues to behave the way that he did before he was married. Edmund is kind to everyone and spends most of his time going from one person to the next making them happy. Unfortunately, this doesn't make his wife happy.  Jane decides to leave Edmund as her marriage is not turing out how she wanted it to.  She is turned away by the ton because they can't believe anyone would leave their beloved Kirkpatrick.

Jane soon learns why Edmund acts the way he does and they work together to solve his problem.

I just could not get into this book. Normally I can't wait to find time to finish a novel, but with this one I just didn't feel drawn to keep reading. It did finally pick up about halfway through it and I did enjoy the second half.  This was the first book that I have read by this author and I just don't know if I will read anymore.  I might read the first two books in the series just to read up on some of the characters that are in this one...

This book comes out on Oct. 1, 2013. You can get it at Amazon and Barnes & Noble.

Thanks go to NetGalley and Zebra for a free copy in exchange for an honest review.

No comments:

Post a Comment