Sunday, October 20, 2013

The Love List by Deb Marlowe

The Love List by Deb Marlowe.

This is book one in the Half Moon House series.

While in a rather awkward situation with her bethrothed, Lord Marstoke, Brynne encounters the Duke of Aldmere. Brynne is convinced that he is as bad as her betrothed. She races home to tell her father that she wants to break off the betrothal, only to learn that he will be of no help to her. Learning this, she decides to leave her home and move in with Hestia Wright a former courtesan who has opened her home to women in trouble.

A few months later, Bryanne has reason to seek out the Duke of Aldmere to help with a situation that could ruin her new found freedom. The Duke's brother has started rewriting the Harris List of Covent Garden Ladies and has put Brynne and the other ladies of Half Moon House in the book.

Aldmere's brother has been missing for days and he quickly agrees that the two of them need to work together to find his brother and to stop the publication of the list.

They find out that Lord Marstoke is behind the rewriting of the list to get back at Brynne and Hestia for something in the past.  As they delve deeper into the mystery of Aldmere's missing brother, they find out that Marstoke is up to much more than just reviving the list.

Bryanne has decided to never be under the control of another man again, but as she spends more time with Admere she is second guessing her decision.

I really enjoyed this book and stayed up much later than normal to read just a little bit more.  The additional story line of the girls in Half Moon House added an interesting twist to the story.  I hope that Aldmere's brother gets his own story as well as some of the ladies in the house.

You can get this story at Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and iTunes.

Thanks go to Netgalley and Aspendawn Books for a free copy of the book in exchange of an honest review.

No comments:

Post a Comment